Erasmus Mundus Scholarship Programme

erasmus mundus scholarship programme

The Erasmus Mundus Scholarship Programme is an international study programme, delivered in collaboration by an international consortium of higher education institutions. Erasmus Mundus is a mobility programme with the aim of enhancing the quality of European higher education and encouraging dialogue between people of different cultures. It is a multiple master’s degree programme available for students who meet the criteria for application. Organized by the European Union, this programme wants to create a strong academic link between the EU and the rest of the world. It offers countless scholarships to students aiming to get a degree at European universities.

Numerous scholarships are available to international students, from both EU and non-EU countries, who want to study in either a Master’s or Doctorate programme offered by the Erasmus Mundus scheme. This programme is of 60, 90, or 120 credits, meaning it will last from

12 months up to 24 months. Nowadays, more and more students are expanding their academic and personal knowledge and skills by pursuing their degrees internationally.

The Erasmus Mundus Scholarship is offering students the possibility of pursuing their degrees in some of the highest ranked universities in Europe. Every year, students from around the world are given the possibility of applying for Erasmus Mundus scholarships to undertake Master or Doctorate studies. Erasmus Mundus falls under the Erasmus+ Programme, which has three centralized key actions, including:

  • Key Action 1: Mobility (Focusing on Learning Mobility of Individuals)
  • Key Action 2: Cooperation (Focusing on Cooperation for Innovation and Good Practices)
  • Key Action 3: Policy (Focusing on Support to Policy Reforms)

The Erasmus Mundus study should take place in at least two of the Programme countries (28 EU countries as well as Liechtenstein, Turkey, Norway, Iceland, and Macedonia). Students can also choose a study abroad semester, in some programmes, which should be in one of the Partner countries, if an institution from partner countries is involved.

Who is eligible for an Erasmus Mundus Scholarship?

What you should know about the eligibility of the Erasmus Mundus Scholarship programme:

  • Students from all over the world are eligible to apply for a scholarship through the Erasmus Mundus Joint Master Degree (EMJMD).
  • It is also available for scholars and guest lecturers.
  • Students should first secure a place on the degree programme to be eligible for the scholarship.
  • Students must already have a higher education degree or demonstrate a recognized equivalent level of learning by the application deadline. However, they should have their degree ready before the start of their studies.
  • Students who already have an Erasmus Mundus Joint Master Degrees scholarship or had one in the past, are not eligible to apply for an additional scholarship.

What does the Erasmus Mundus Scholarship cover?

The scholarship includes the following:

  • Tuition fees.
  • Full insurance coverage.
  • Other mandatory costs related to the EMJMD study programme.
  • A contribution to travel and installation expenses, such as:
  • €1,000 per year for a scholarship holder residing in a Programme country.
  • €2,000 per year for a scholarship holder residing in a Partner country less than 4000km from the coordinating institution.
  • €3,000 per year for a scholarship holder residing in a Partner country more than 4000km from the coordinating institution.
  • Monthly subsistence allowance of €1,000, however:
  • Scholarship holders studying in their country of residence will not receive the allowance during that period.
  • Scholarship holders from a partner country can’t receive the monthly allowance for more than 3 months when studying in any partner country.
  • €1,000 as a contribution to settling-in costs for students residing in a Partner country.

Which are the Erasmus Mundus Joint Master Degrees?

The Erasmus Mundus Joint Master Degrees (EMJMD) with UK universities as coordinators or partners, are:

Joint Master Degrees Coordinator or Partner UK University
ACES+ Erasmus Mundus JMD AquaCulture, Environment and Society PLUS (ACES+) University of the Highlands and Islands
ADVANCE MA Advanced Development in Social Work (ADVANCES) University of Lincoln
CEERES Central and East European, Russian and Eurasian Studies University of Glasgow
CLMC Children’s Literature, Media and Culture University of Glasgow
CWCN Crossways in Cultural Narratives The University of Sheffield
DEPEND Erasmus Mundus Joint MSc in Advanced Systems Dependability University Court of the University of St Andrews
EM TTI Technology for Translating and Interpreting University of Wolverhampton
EMGS Erasmus Mundus Master in Global Studies – A European Perspective London School of Economics and Political Science
EMHRPP Erasmus Mundus Human Rights Policy and Practice Roehampton University
EMIMEO Erasmus Mundus on Innovative Microwave Electronics and Optics Aston University
EMMA Erasmus Mundus Masters Journalism, Media and Globalisation (Mundus Journalism) Swansea University


City University of London

EPH+ European Master in Public Health The University of Sheffield
EUROSUD South European Studies University of Glasgow
GEMMA Erasmus Mundus Master’s Degree in Women’s and Gender Studies University of York
GENIAL GrEen NetworkIng And cLoud computing Leeds Beckett University
GLOBED Education Policies for Global Development University of Glasgow
GLOCAL Global Markets, Local Creativities University of Glasgow
IMAESC International Master in Adult Education for Social Change  

University of Glasgow

IMFSE The International Master of Science in Fire Safety Engineering The University of Edinburgh
IMSISS International Master in Security, Intelligence and Strategic Studies University of Glasgow
KEM Kino Eyes – The European Movie Master Edinburgh Napier University
MAiSI Erasmus Mundus Joint Master Degree in Sports Ethics and Integrity Swansea University
MER+ European MSc in Marine EnviRonment University of  Southampton
MUrCS Master of Urban Climate and Sustainability The Glasgow Caledonian University
NURSING Erasmus Mundus Joint Master Degree in Emergency and Critical Care Nursing Edinburgh Napier University
PIXNET Photonic Integrated Circuits, Sensors and NETworks Aston University
REM Erasmus Mundus Joint Master Degree in Renewable Energy in the Marine Environment University of Strathclyde
SMACCs MSc in Smart Cities and Communities Heriot-Watt University
SMARTNE Smart Telecom and Sensing Networks Aston University
SSI+ Joint International Master in Smart Systems Integration Heriot-Watt University
STEPS Erasmus Mundus Joint Master Degree in Sustainable Transportation and Electrical Power Systems The University of Nottingham


SUFONAM EMMC in Sustainable Forest and Nature Management Bangor University
SUTROFO Sustainable Tropical Forestry Erasmus Mundus Joint Master Degree Bangor University
TourDC Tourism Development and Culture University of Glasgow
TRIBOS+ Joint European Master in Tribology of Surfaces and Interfaces University of Leeds


You can find the full list of the masters offering Erasmus Mundus scholarships in the EMJMD Catalogue.

How do I apply for an Erasmus Mundus scholarship programme?

Initially, you should visit the EMJMD Catalogue and choose up to three programmes of interest. Visit the website of your preferred course and make sure you’re eligible to apply. The consortia, or partnerships, usually require applications to be submitted between October and January for courses starting in the following academic year. Applicants (be it students or potential scholars/guest lecturers) should visit each programme’s website for more information on their application and courses; since each of them has their own separate requirements.